Maryland Driving License Suspensions
Although the loss of your license is not a criminal penalty, it can greatly affect your ability to live a normal life, especially if it prevents your ability to get to work. Once a license suspension has been imposed in Maryland, quite often there is little one can do except to stay out of further trouble and wait until it is restored. If one seeks the help of Maryland Traffic Attorney PRIOR to the suspension, however, such suspensions can be avoided.
Free consultation — E-mail or call Attorney Ray Carignan at 410-703-2703. He will provide you with straightforward, realistic guidance about how he can help.
Suspended, Revoked, or Canceled
Suspended License ― The temporary withdrawal of your driver’s license. Depending on your situation the MVA may allow you to drive on a restricted license (limited to driving to and from work or school).
Revoked License―The withdrawal of your driving privileges until the MVA decides you’re fit to drive again. Unlike a suspended license, a revoked license comes with an extended waiting period before you can drive again, and even then there is no guarantee that the MVA will allow you to apply for a reinstated driver’s license.
Canceled License―Your driving privileges have been terminated.
Your license can be suspended, revoked or canceled for several reasons including too many points on your driving record or for some of the following violations:
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Attempting to elude a police officer
- Turning off vehicle lights to avoid being identified
Penalties for Drivers Younger Than 18
If you are younger than 18 and hold a provisional driver’s license you’ll face the following penalties if convicted of a moving violation:
- First offense―Mandatory enrollment in a Driver Improvement Program
- Second offense―30-day suspension of driving privileges, followed by a 90-day restricted license period (can only drive to and from school and/or work)
- Third offense―180-day suspension of driving privileges, mandatory enrollment in a Driver Improvement Program, followed by a 180-day restricted license period
- Fourth or subsequent offense―Revocation of driving privileges
In addition, the co-signer of your license (a parent or guardian) may cancel your provisional license. Should this occur, your MD license will remain canceled until your 18th birthday.
Penalties for Maryland Commercial Drivers
You must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving.
You will lose your MD CDL for one year if convicted of any of the following offenses:
- Driving any vehicle with a blood alcohol count (BAC) of 0.08% or higher
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%
- Refusing to submit to a sobriety test
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Using the vehicle to commit a felony
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a suspended, revoked or canceled CDL
- Causing a fatality through negligent driving
These violations include:
- Speeding 15 mph over the posted speed limit
- Reckless driving
- Improper lane changes
- Following a vehicle too closely
- Driving a CMV without holding a CDL
- Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession
- Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement
- Violating a state law of texting while driving
A second conviction of any combination of these violations will lead to the loss of your driving privileges for 60 days, or 120 days for a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of these offenses.
You CDL will be disqualified from anywhere from 180 days to one year for the following convictions:
- Violating a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting nonhazardous materials
- Violating a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting hazardous materials required to be placarded, or while driving a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers