Maryland DUI and DWI Penalties

if you have been arrested in the state of Maryland for suspicion of a DWI or DUI there will be two different cases brought against you. One is the criminal case brought by the state, and the other is by the Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles to revoke your license.

The difference between a DWI and a DUI is one of degree. In Maryland, if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is .08 or above, you are considered legally drunk and can be charged with a DWI. If your BAC is between .04 and .07, you can be charged with a DUI. In Maryland, a DUI is a lesser infraction, but it is still a serious offense.

First DUI

  • Jail – Up to 1 Year
  • Jail – Up to 2 Years (If Transporting Minor)
  • License Suspension – 6 Months Minimum
  • Fine – Up to $1,000
  • Fine – Up to $2,000 (If Transporting Minor)

First DWI

  • Jail – Up to 2 Months
  • Jail – Up to 6 Months (If Transporting Minor)
  • License Suspension – 6 Months Minimum
  • Fine – Up to $500
  • Fine – Up to $1,000 (If Transporting Minor)

Second DUI

  • Jail – Up to 2 Years
  • Jail – Up to 3 Years (If Transporting Minor)
  • License Suspension – 1 Year (If Within 5 Years of Previous)
  • Ignition Interlock Program Possible (After 45 Days of Suspension)
  • Fine – Up to $2,000
  • Fine – Up to $3,000 (If Transporting Minor)

Second DWI

  • Jail – Up to 1 Year
  • License Suspension – 1 Year Minimum
  • Fine – Up to $500
  • Fine – Up to $2,000 (If Transporting Minor)

3rd (and future) Drunk Driving Conviction

  • Jail – Up to 3 Years
  • Jail – Up to 4 Years (If Transporting Minor)
  • License Suspension – 18 Months Minimum
  • Fine – Up to $3,000
  • Fine – Up to $4,000 (If Transporting Minor)

Free consultation — E-mail or call Attorney Ray Carignan at 410-703-2703. He will provide you with straightforward, realistic guidance about how he can help.